First Sewing Project – What to do?!

I’ve been trying to figure out what my first sewing project should be.  Ultimately, I want to be able to sew some of my own clothes and make some crafty things for our baby.  But I have to start with something much simpler as I don’t remember anything from my sixth grade economics class that taught us the basics of how to use a sewing machine.  But even if I did remember, my newfangled machine does not in any way resemble the heavy rusty old Singer machines I used to practice on.

I love to read and I figured that since I’m trying to learn how to sew on my own, books on Kindle are as good a place to start as any.  So far, I’ve downloaded Me and My Sewing Machine on my Kindle which I find very straightforward and informative, and Sewing in a Straight Line which seems like a good book to choose my first project from.  But of course, I couldn’t resist picking up a few books that I hope I can use in the future such as Built by Wendy Dresses (available through Amazon, not sure if we can get it in Manila) and the BurdaStyle Sewing Handbook (Php 1,199 from Powerbooks in Alabang Town Center around which both come with patterns inside:

I’m trying to figure out if I should try the one-hour skirt from Sewing in a Straight Line or maybe a really cute and functional crayon roll.  But since both will work well with medium weight fabric and I’ve read that printed or plain cotton is the easiest for beginners, I decided to get some cute fabric to inspire me last weekend.

I went to Fabric Warehouse in Glorietta 5 and Paramus in Glorietta 4 below the food court and left with this fabric:

Fabric from Paramus, Glorietta 4

Printed cotton from Fabric Warehouse (200 per yard)

I bought some matching thread and elastic as well in Carolina’s in the ground floor of Glorietta 5 near Starbucks.  Fanbi in Greenbelt 1 is on sale and seems to have a lot of choices too but I didn’t really look around when I was in the area.

Up next, picking my first sewing project, studying the CE8080 manual, and finally using my new sewing machine.  🙂

2 responses

    • First projects are exciting! And a little scary. Hehe. Thanks so much for stopping by! I was looking through the patterns included in those books the other day and they do need a lot of editing to fit my body exactly. I’ll definitely check this book out when I’m ready to start sewing my own clothes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

