Quick, basic potato gratin

To go with the brisket I made, my husband requested potato gratin.  And since I aim to please, that’s what we had for dinner tonight.  🙂

This is adapted loosely from a recipe in one of my go-to cookbooks, The Art of Simple Food by Alice Waters.

First, I sliced and parboiled 4 medium sized potatoes to make sure they cook through in the oven.  Then I layered them in a baking dish with a lot of kosher salt, freshly ground pepper and some ricotta cheese from Malagos farms.  Repeat until you almost hit the top of your dish.  When I reached the top layer (make sure to leave some space so the milk doesn’t run over the sides of your dish and make a mess in your oven) I dotted the top layer with a few cubes of butter.  Then I poured in some low-fat milk (cream is better but…a moment on the lips forever on the hips!) until it reached the bottom of the top layer of potatoes and topped it off with more pepper.

I baked this at 350 degrees for 45 minutes along with the brisket…and dinner was ready in around an hour.

If you want the sauce to be thicker, you can add some cornstarch to the milk.  Or thrown caution into the winds and use cream!  Really easy and yummy and it makes a fantastic side dish or a main course along with a leafy salad.  🙂

One response

  1. This looks yummy – my mom should love it as she’s a slave to potatoes. She’d have potatoes every day if she could!
    Btw, thank you for your lovely comment:)

Leave a Reply

