Glazed carrots – good as candy! Well, almost!

Given my dislike for (laziness to adhere to?) strict recipes, it makes sense that one of my favorite cookbook authors is Mark Bittman.  I love How to Cook Everything and The Minimalist Cooks Dinner for quick, easy inspiration on new flavor profiles and combinations that I wouldn’t ordinarily think of on my own.

I open his books up on my Kindle, go to search, and type in whatever protein or fresh produce I have to work with that day, and usually I’m really happy with what I make.  Today I had 3 huge, super fresh carrots from the Sunday market that I wanted to turn into a side dish to go with my miso sriracha salmon and my oven roasted broccoli and potatoes.  Thank you Mark Bittman, for my glazed carrots that even my carrot-hating husband gobbled up.

Glazed carrots, adapted from The Minimalist Cooks Dinner by Mark Bittman

To make, chop up some carrots into half inch chunks and cover halfway with water, a pinch of salt and some butter (I used 2 tablespoons for 3 carrots).  Set the burner to medium-high heat and cover the pot, simmer for around 20 minutes until tender and water has reduced.  Take off the cover and simmer down a little more, then season with salt and freshly ground pepper and serve!  Perfect as a weeknight side dish!

One response

  1. Pingback: Miso sriracha glazed salmon « Part Time Homemaker

Leave a Reply

