Crafts for Kids – Crayon Roll

Here’s a little break from the food posts (although I will post about Zuni Cafe’s Roast Chicken soon – excited to try that out)!

After my first sewing project, I leafed through my sewing/crafts books and tagged these projects online that I think would be good for beginners like me:

I had a hard time deciding since everything looks great, so I decided to just go through my fabric to see what inspired me.  I decided on this pretty cotton from Cotton Depot in Mall of Asia, I showed it to you guys before in this post.

I decided to do a crayon roll in anticipation of our baby on the way, plus I think it will be a great, handmade present for my friend’s kids and our little godchildren.

Crayon roll tutorial adapted from Pleated Poppy and Prudent Baby

You will need the following:

  • 2 pieces of fabric for outside and inside – 5″ x 16 1/2″
  • 1 piece of coordinating fabric for the pocket – 6″ x 16 1/2″ (Note:  I decided I like the printed part on the bottom, so I used the same fabric for outside and for the pocket)
  • 1 piece lining – 5″ x 16 1/2″
  • 1 hair elastic and button or 1 ribbon in a suitable color
  • Usual materials – needle, thread, ruler, cutting mat, marker/chalk
  • Oh and crayons of course!

To begin, cut out your fabric like so:

Take the fabric piece for your crayon pocket, fold it in half lengthwise, and iron it flat.  This is where I appreciated how easy cotton is to work with after starting with jersey for that first project!  Then pin together 3 of your fabric pieces:  the lining at the back, the fabric for the inside in the middle (wrong side down) and your pressed fabric for the pocket in front.  It should look like this:

Mark the middle line and continue marking 1 inch sections with your tailors chalk or disappearing marker.  I find it quite difficult to sew in straight lines (it’s harder than it sounds!), so I marked a piece of scrap cloth and practiced a lot first.  🙂  It made it much easier when I started on the crayon roll.  Sew from the middle down, backstitching at each beginning and end to secure your stitches.  Trim the excess thread, there will be a lot!

Stitch down the elastic or your ribbon on the rightmost end.  I decided to use an elastic this time but a ribbon would be pretty too.  I sewed 5 times in each direction to make sure it would stay.  I forgot to take a picture though!

Then take your outside fabric and pin it to your sewn fabric, right sides together.  It should look like this, with wrong sides out.  I marked my inseam to help me follow the lines and pinned it all together to make it easier to sew.  Leave an allowance (around 2 inches) because you will need to turn everything right side out.

When you’re done sewing all the sides, turn it right side out through your 2 inch gap!   This is where it started to get exciting for me since I could really see it taking shape.  🙂  Press it down to remove wrinkles and prepare for topstitching all around.

Stitch all around as close as you can to the outer edge.  This certainly wasn’t perfect even if I did sew quite slowly, but I’m happy with it for my first try!  🙂  Stick your crayons into the pockets (so cute!) and you’re almost done!

You just need to…roll it up and sew on your button by hand.

And voila!  My first crayon roll!  *Beaming with pride*  I will make another one soon to practice my sewing skills.  I wonder if this has potential for me to sell here in Manila!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

