Bread Salad

To go with the roasted chicken, I made two side dishes, roasted potatoes and a yummy bread salad, inspired by the Zuni Cafe recipe for bread salad.  I didn’t have most of the things in the recipe on hand, so this is a very loosely adapted recipe that came out great!

Bread salad with arugula, walnuts and grapes

To serve 2 hungry people, I used 3 slices of thick cut rye bread, cut out the crusts, and tore it up into chunks (you can use whatever bread you like, the recipe just says not to use sourdough).  I tossed them with some good olive oil and baked them for around 5-10 minutes while I was preheating the oven for the chicken.  I put them in when the oven was at around 400 degrees, they crisped up pretty quickly.

Combine 1/3 cup olive oil with 2 tablespoons of vinegar.  I used sherry vinegar since that’s what i had on hand.  Add salt and pepper to taste.  I ended up adding around half a tablespoon more vinegar since I like my vinaigrettes quite tart.  Toss two-thirds of your vinaigrette with the bread and taste again.  Adjust your seasonings to your liking.

Put your bread mixture in the oven for 10 minutes along with a little chicken stock or water (since I was roasting a chicken I added a spoonful of pan juices).  It will come out stuffing-like and delicious – of course I had to have another taste!

To assemble:

Tear up your arugula and toss with the bread.  Add walnuts (I toasted them first) and some grapes.  I love the way the sweetness of the grapes plays off the peppery arugula and the tart vinaigrette.  This was delicious with the roast chicken!

One response

  1. Pingback: Zuni Cafe’s Roasted Chicken « Part Time Homemaker

Leave a Reply

