Indian Butter Chicken

One of the best things about school is the friends you make from around the world.  With them, of course, comes learning that you will never get from books alone, and the culture, beliefs and of course the food that you discover because of them.  When I was in studying for my masters degree, I had classmates from around the world.  There were those from Italy (who were horrified about the way we Filipinos cook carbonara with cream), from Japan (who could not accept that Tokyo Tokyo was Japanese fast food chain), and from India (the vegetarians had a helluva hard time finding real vegetarian food in Manila at that time, and the non-vegetarians were confounded at how their requests for “spicy” in Manila was almost always interpreted as “sweet and mildly spicy” to their palates).

Needless to say, one of the things I developed was a passion for Indian food.  My trip to Delhi and Agra last year to attend a good friends wedding only reinforced my love for Indian cuisine.  🙂  So this morning, while trying to figure out what to make for dinner, I saw some chicken tenders and some spices I bought from Assad along UN avenue, and dinner was set: Murgh Makhani or Indian Butter Chicken.  Good thing my husband loves Indian food as much as I do!

First, I rinsed around 600 grams of chicken,  chopped it up into cubes, and marinated them in butter chicken spice mix, a few squeezes of lemon juice, and around half a cup of water.

Then I chopped up 3 gorgeous tomatoes I picked up at the Legaspi market yesterday and boiled them for around 20 minutes.  You’re supposed to strain this to make a puree but I didn’t bother, I like my butter chicken chunky.  Plus a sieve is one more thing to wash around here!

I then sauteed the marinated chicken in some olive oil, added the tomato puree and some whole milk (to taste) and simmered this for 15 minutes.  I added a tablespoons of unsalted butter, a drizzle of yogurt instead of cream, and dinner was ready!

This was delicious with a lot of basmati rice and some cucumber mint raita.  🙂

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Cucumber mint raita « Part Time Homemaker

Leave a Reply

