Burda style magazine in Manila!

This week is Holy Week in the Philippines which means that almost everyone is on leave and on vacation…but I’m still at work since it’s not the best idea for me to make long trips or to fly somewhere almost 36 weeks into my pregnancy. I’m saving my leaves for Christmas break! Happily though, something arrived today to keep me company at work (although it means I wont be getting much work done):

I’ve been really curious about the Burda style magazine since so many hobby seamstresses and blogs often post about it. It can’t be purchased anywhere here in Manila (like a lot of sewing supplies and references) but luckily I saw a link on burdastyle.com here which directed me to http://www.newsstand.co.uk. I ordered just 3 issues first since I’m not sure how much I will like the magazines and how easy it will be to sew from them. The first one arrived today, and from the looks of it I’ll be getting a longer subscription. πŸ™‚ Only thing is I’m not used to tracing out patterns since I’ve only used the ones from the Big 4 which I just cut out. It’s always fun to teach yourself new things though! If you guys have any tips or suggestions or favorite patterns from the new magazine do let me know! πŸ™‚

5 responses

  1. I’m jealous! πŸ˜€ Sometimes I can’t move on after buying a pretty fabric when I don’t have a selection of patterns at the ready. And when I look online, there’s just so many options that I end up getting confused instead!

    Have you tried those Japanese magazines being sold in bookstores in Manila? I’m not quite sure where to buy exactly because I only saw someone from college use them, but maybe it’s available in National Bookstore. The magazines are cheap and have traceable patterns, too. I think I should hunt for that, too.

    • Hi Weyn, I know exactly what you mean, I have a bunch of patterns ready but I can’t seem to stop buying fabric when I see something pretty. Then I usually have either a bit too much or a bit too little fabric for a certain pattern so I tell myself the perfect match of fabric and pattern will come soon. Or maybe I’m just making excuses for my terrible self control…I think I have a fabric addiction! πŸ™‚

      I’ve seen the Japanese magazines, you’re right, they have loads of them available in National Bookstore. Only problem is the directions are in Japanese too. If you’re an expert seamstress/sewist then there shouldn’t be a problem figuring out how to stitch things together. But since I just started teaching myself how to sew I’m not brave enough to try sewing something up without directions yet. If you do try that out let me know how it goes! πŸ™‚

  2. You can buy burda patterns to download from burdastyle.com. Some butterick, simplicity etc. patterns are available for download from sewingpatterns.com as well as from the companies’ respective websites. You are supposed to be able to bring the files to a photocopy shop and print them on bigger paper, but I doubt if the local copy shops in Manila have that capability! After years of not being able to buy patterns in manila and having to make them myself, I am just very happy that I can download, even if I have to stick a ton of paper together first!

    • Hi Karen I’ve never tried bringing them to a photocopy shop either. I’ve seen some shops that have large format printers where architects have blueprints printed. I wonder if we could take the patterns there! In the meantime though I do the same as you and convert the floor of my living room into a pattern taping center. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

