Fusible Interfacing in Manila

Hi everyone!  I’ve been away for quite some time, sorry about that!  I have a really good reason though: my husband and I welcomed our lovely baby girl this month.  Our little bundle of joy has currently been sleeping very soundly through the day but has been awake (okay, not just awake, howling) through the night.  She lives in Manila but is operating on North American time!  Anyway I’m back and on maternity leave so I hope to be able to post more often in between taking care of the little one.  🙂

I’ve shared in my previous posts on sewing supplies here that one thing I couldn’t find is fusible interfacing here in Manila.  Bam commented that there was some in Carolina’s Glorietta 5 so when I found myself in SM Megamall a few weeks ago, of course I had to go check it out, and I’m glad I did because my search for fusible interfacing here is now over!  

As with many sewing supplies here, fusible interfacing goes by a different name (which is why I couldn’t find it!).  In Carolina’s, they call it cotton fuse or Sanforize.  I bought several yards of each type to test them out.  Prices are as follows:

Sanforize (125 Php per yard) on top, Cotton fuse (30 Php per yard) on the bottom. Prices as of April 2012

In the picture below, cotton fuse is to the left and Sanforize is to the right.  Cotton fuse is much cheaper at less than the equivalent of a dollar per yard, and is somewhat translucent.  Sanforize as they call it is much thicker, somewhat like regular plain cotton with a sticky side.

To test them out, I cut some scraps of cotton I had lying around and fused both types by pressing them down for 20 seconds with a hot iron.  Here is how they looked from the back:

Cotton fuse to the left, Sanforize to the right

Here’s the front view below:

Cotton fuse interfacing on the left, Sanforize interfacing to the right

They both fused to the cotton very well, but Sanforize produced a noticeably more stiff result than the cotton fuse.  Also, the resulting color of the cotton was brighter with the Sanforize.  Overall, they worked well although I have yet to use them for an actual project.  🙂 Carolina’s Megamall contact number:  (02)633-4965, (02)633-1766

Update:

Fusible interfacing is available in Cotton Depot, Glorietta 5, Manila at 50 pesos/yard.  This price is as of November 2014.

13 responses

  1. Pingback: Sewing supplies and fabric in Manila « Part Time Homemaker

  2. This is great to know! I actually had my mom send some over! Thanks again for the info regarding sewing machines – I finally decided on one last week and have been knee deep in projects ever since!

  3. Hi.

    I love your blog. I recently took sewing as a hobby. I’m in Cebu and we call it pellon. I think that’s the cotton fuse that you found.

    Keep up the good work!

  4. I think pilon/pelon is different from fusible interfacing.
    From experience, pilon does not stick to fabric, so it’s just interfacing, not fusible interfacing.
    It’s just something hard to slip into your collar pieces and cuffs etc.

    Right?

  5. I’m looking for fabric suppliers online and found you site. I’m trying to get back to sewing and glad to know there are others online with the same interest. Thanks for the tips 🙂

  6. hello, gusto ko po malaman which of the 2 ang mas maganda gamitin sa mga coin purse or pouch or tablet sleeves? maraming salamat po

  7. Hi! Hope I could be of help here. 🙂 It might be (or definitely) cheaper to buy fusible interfacing in Divisoria (Tabora) or Kamuning Market – the corner shop where the ribbons, buttons, other materials are sold (sorry I forgot the name) rather than in Carolina’s. A hundred pesos or less per yard, 60 width. There are a lot of choices there too! They have sanforise/pellon in different thickness. They also have the “fuse” used in coat making in different variants too! But I think fewer stores along Tabora offer them.

Leave a Reply

