Salted Peanut Butter Cookies

My little one is now 9 months old and eats like there’s no tomorrow.  There’s nothing that she won’t try, whether it be ampalaya (bitter melon), okra, crab, shrimps, or liver.  She has eaten portobello mushrooms, truffle pasta, miso soup and more, and she has loved them all.  But there is one thing she hasn’t tried yet that I can’t wait to feed her, but her pediatrician has asked me not to introduce it until she is a year old – peanut butter!

But once she turns a year old, salted peanut butter cookies are on top of my list of things to bake for her!!  Because they are AWESOME.  Peanut butter.  Butter.  Chocolate.  I rest my case.  Just take a look at these babies:

Salted peanut butter cookies

Salted peanut butter cookies

I had to make a few tweaks, those of you who also live in Manila will understand that as much as I want to remain faithful to recipes, there are some things that are quite difficult to buy here.  Pastry flour is one of them.  Based on this post with amazing pictures, I substituted the pastry flour for 2/3 all purpose flour and 1/3 cake flour.  I was able to find natural peanut butter (Skippy) in Landmark.  It was the no-stir kind but it worked just fine.

Natural and salted peanut butter from Landmark

Natural and salted peanut butter from Landmark

For those of you wondering if you can use natural and regular peanut butter interchangeably, the answer is a big fat NO.  I learned this the hard way – I tried using regular instead of natural peanut butter in a recipe I saw for peanut butter brownies and after around 15 minutes in the oven I could hear my batter sizzling…sizzling, people!  Needless to say that was a throw away batch.  After some research I figured out why – natural peanut butter does not contain partially hydrogenated oil which makes it a lot less greasy.

Another thing – use kosher salt!  Do not substitute with your regular table salt.  The cookies will be puffy but not totally golden when they’re done.  If they look done, well, they’re overcooked.  So take them out once your timer hits 18 minutes and they will slowly form beautiful cracks, and sink into peanut buttery goodness.  🙂

You can find the recipe on Orangette here.  Be prepared for your house to smell like heaven.

Salted peanut butter cookies

Fresh from the oven

Leave a Reply

